ellie posniack and 25 other parents have been here

Recent User Reviews

Write a review!
  • Visited: June 2013
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8) and Tweens (9-12)

My trip photos

View All

Mount Roberts Tramway

Juneau, Alaska

| Map More Info


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)
  • Tweens (9-12)

Hiking and Snow Summit are Highlights

Flag review

Tips for Families

To the left of the base of the tram at the waterfront, there's a concrete whispering wall that the kids thought was pretty cool.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: August 2012
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge Denali National Park

Mile 238.5 George Parks Highway, Mckinley Park, Alaska

| Map

KID-FRIENDLY AMENITIES

  • On-site restaurant(s)


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)

Provide dates to check prices

avg/night

Check Rates

Denali Princess Lodge brings access and activity to Denali National Park

Flag review

Tips for Families

If your family needs supplies like diapers, baby food, extra snacks, etc. be sure and purchase before you arrive. There is NO real grocery store and prices for some items are outrageous. Bring bikes if you have them (rent in downtown Anchorage or Fairbanks) and enjoy the paved bike path from Nenana Canyon to the Park Headquarters area. Wi-fi is spotty here, but adequate in the lobby. Many, many older cruisers stay at this property, so don't be surprised if they aren't thrilled at your youngsters jumping, playing, and generally being kids. Staff are quite accommodating, however, and seem to enjoy children.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: November 2013
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Tweens (9-12)

Alyeska Resort Girdwood

1000 Arlberg Ave, Anchorage, Alaska

| Map


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tweens (9-12)

My detailed rating

  • Cleanliness
  • Customer Service
  • Comfort
  • Location
  • Value
  • Pool
  • On-site/nearby restaurants
  • Other kids' amenities

From

$98

avg/night

Check Rates

Alyeska Resort and Grand Hotel combine luxury with Alaskan recreation

Flag review

Tips for Families

Remember that winter in Alaska can be frigid! Dress in layers, add face coverings, and a ski helmet. NOTE: Alyeska's run identification system (black, blue, green) is decidedly more challenging than other resorts, so ask concerning terrain. No out of bounds skiing here, ever. Summertime visitors should access the community playground, and visit the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center, 10 miles south.


My detailed rating

Cleanliness
Value
Customer Service
Pool
Comfort
On-site/nearby restaurants
Location
Other kids' amenities

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

Community playground, Winner Creek trail, aerial tram, Alpine Air helicopter tours and dog mushing adventures, Nordic skiing, snowshoeing.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

The Bake Shop, Jack Sprat, Chair 5, Double Musky (for older kids)

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: August 2012
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

Wedgewood Resort Fairbanks

212 Wedgewood Drive, Fairbanks, Alaska

| Map

KID-FRIENDLY AMENITIES

  • Smoke-free property
  • On-site restaurant(s)
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave in room
  • Kitchenette or kitchen in room


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)

My detailed rating

  • Cleanliness
  • Customer Service
  • Comfort
  • Location
  • Value
  • Pool
  • On-site/nearby restaurants
  • Other kids' amenities

From

$75

avg/night

Check Rates

Wedgewood Resort customer service shines

Flag review

Tips for Families

Plan on walking, it's an excellent way to see the area and kids tired of buses, planes, and trains can get some exercise! The hotel is built from concrete, and thus, wireless internet is spotty at best. Go down to the lobby if you need to surf the web. Take the free trolley shuttle to Creamer's Field, the Tanana Valley State Fair (mid-August), or downtown.


My detailed rating

Cleanliness
Value
Customer Service
Pool
Comfort
On-site/nearby restaurants
Location
Other kids' amenities

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

Creamer's Field Migratory Bird Refuge Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum Wander Lake University of Alaska Fairbanks Tanana Valley Fair

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

Geraldos Falafel Shack Weekly farmer's market near College Road during the summer months

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: July 2013
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

Millennium Alaskan Hotel Anchorage

4800 Spenard Road, Anchorage, Alaska

| Map


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)

My detailed rating

  • Cleanliness
  • Customer Service
  • Comfort
  • Location
  • Value
  • Pool
  • On-site/nearby restaurants
  • Other kids' amenities

From

$105

avg/night

Check Rates

Millennium Alaskan Hotel provides accessibility and views

Flag review

Tips for Families

Walk, jog, or bike the paved pathways around Lake Hood and Lake Spenard, watching float planes, "Bush planes" with fat tires, and keeping a sharp eye out for resident moose, eagles, and waterfowl. The Alaska Aviation Museum is located on the shores of Lake Hood, just across the lake from the hotel. Great displays of aircraft that are so important to Alaska's history.


My detailed rating

Cleanliness
Value
Customer Service
Pool
Comfort
On-site/nearby restaurants
Location
Other kids' amenities

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

Alaska Aviation Museum Tony Knowles Coastal Trail and Earthquake Park Rust's Flying Service (flightseeing, fishing, bear-viewing) Parks and picnic areas

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

Gwennies City Diner

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: July 2012
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

Denali National Park

Park Rd., Denali, Alaska

| Map More Info


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)

Denali National Park combines history and recreation for an outstanding family experience

Flag review

Tips for Families

Allow at least three nights in the greater Denali NP area; the long trip up and back takes a day, and you'll want to allow kids some free time as you explore. Make sure to bring warm clothing and sturdy shoes, you'll be outside a lot! Bring ALL supplies for babies and young children, as local stores carry only the basics, and even then, not everything you want. From diapers to food, you need to bring it. Take advantage of the Murie Science and Learning Center, near the visitor center (follow the painted tracks on the trail). A great place for a little quiet time, staff there can answer questions about flora and fauna, and are very good with kids. Bring cash!

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: July 2013
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

Alaska Sealife Center

Anchorage, Alaska

| Map More Info


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)

Alaska SeaLife Center in Seward informs and entertains kids

Flag review

Tips for Families

Do consider a behind-the-scenes tour with bigger kids; you can feed a Giant Pacific Octopus, watch a bird keeper gather up dinner for the flock of feathered friends in the aviary, or learn more about the rescue program. A bit pricey, but worth it. Take a stroller for little ones, and allow them to spend time viewing 'Woody,' the huge sea lion who loves to swim past kids! Combine the trip with a day trip aboard Kenai Fjords Tours; the have a combo deal that allows for both SeaLife Center visits, and a day cruise.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: June 2011
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

Seward Windsong Lodge

31772 Hermann Leirer Road, Seward, Alaska

| Map

KID-FRIENDLY AMENITIES

  • On-site restaurant(s)
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave in room
  • Hiking trails on site


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)

From

$155

avg/night

Check Rates

Seward Windsong is your ticket to Alaskan exploration

Flag review

Tips for Families

Bring a backpack or stroller for little kids; the walking paths are great, and if you venture to Exit Glacier, you'll want something for tiny children. Do allow the lodge to arrange a package tour to Exit Glacier and/or a wildlife cruise. Complete worth the money and it is so nice not to worry about details. Roadhouse is a fabulous place to eat lunch or dinner.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: March 2012
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks

433 Harold Bentley Avenue, Fairbanks, Alaska

| Map

KID-FRIENDLY AMENITIES

  • Connecting rooms
  • Rollaway beds available
  • Sleeper sofa
  • Can accommodate large families
  • Smoke-free property
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave in room
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Highchairs available
  • Cribs (infant beds) available


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)

From

$87

avg/night

Check Rates

Hampton Inn and Suites combines convenience with kid-friendliness

Flag review

Tips for Families

Try visiting during the winter months - property manager Casey Thompson is an expert aurora borealis photographer and a dad; he is a wealth of local knowledge and expertise! The hotel is close to many summertime attractions as well, like Creamer's Field Migratory Bird Refuge, Tanana Valley State Fair, and Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum. The only drawback, and it just requires a bit of planning, is the immediate location - no parks or scenic places right nearby, but fear not; the hotel will assist with getting you there!

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: September 2012
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

Kennicott Glacier Lodge

#15 Kennicott Millsite, Kennicott, Alaska

| Map

KID-FRIENDLY AMENITIES

  • Rollaway beds available
  • Kids stay free
  • On-site restaurant(s)
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Hiking trails on site


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)

From

$185

avg/night

Check Rates

Kennicott Glacier Lodge steeped in Alaska history

Flag review

Tips for Families

Plan at least three nights at the lodge; after a long, stressful drive, it's a must. The Edgerton Highway (aka dirt road) has NO services along the way, so one must be prepared for 65 miles of indepedent travel. Take food, water, extra clothing, and a good attitude. No cell service, either. If your kids are picky, pack some healthy alternatives, like peanut butter, bread, cereal bars, etc. We brought all of the above and our son was pretty happy for the snacks. Plan on alpine-like weather; the lodge sits at the edge of a series of glaciers, and wind can be cold. Bring warm hats, gloves, rain gear, and sturdy hiking boots for everyone. A backpack for infants is a must. The lodge is only open June 1- Labor Day. We love Labor Day weekend; the leaves are turning and the views, stunning. Many Anchorage and Fairbanks families travel here for one last hurrah before winter, so reserve early. A shuttle is available to McCarthy, five miles down the road, and a little town where no "outside" autos are allowed. Try the local store for an 'on the go' meal, or eat at Ma Johnsons for a special treat. An epic road trip.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Loading

Thank you for your help! We'll check it out.

500 characters allowed