Jennifer Stewart and 8 other parents have been here

Recent User Reviews

Write a review!
  • Visited: November 2013
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Tweens (9-12)

Alyeska Resort Girdwood

1000 Arlberg Ave, Anchorage, Alaska

| Map


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tweens (9-12)

My detailed rating

  • Cleanliness
  • Customer Service
  • Comfort
  • Location
  • Value
  • Pool
  • On-site/nearby restaurants
  • Other kids' amenities

From

$98

avg/night

Check Rates

Alyeska Resort and Grand Hotel combine luxury with Alaskan recreation

Flag review

Tips for Families

Remember that winter in Alaska can be frigid! Dress in layers, add face coverings, and a ski helmet. NOTE: Alyeska's run identification system (black, blue, green) is decidedly more challenging than other resorts, so ask concerning terrain. No out of bounds skiing here, ever. Summertime visitors should access the community playground, and visit the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center, 10 miles south.


My detailed rating

Cleanliness
Value
Customer Service
Pool
Comfort
On-site/nearby restaurants
Location
Other kids' amenities

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

Community playground, Winner Creek trail, aerial tram, Alpine Air helicopter tours and dog mushing adventures, Nordic skiing, snowshoeing.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

The Bake Shop, Jack Sprat, Chair 5, Double Musky (for older kids)

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: July 2013
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

Millennium Alaskan Hotel Anchorage

4800 Spenard Road, Anchorage, Alaska

| Map


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)

My detailed rating

  • Cleanliness
  • Customer Service
  • Comfort
  • Location
  • Value
  • Pool
  • On-site/nearby restaurants
  • Other kids' amenities

From

$105

avg/night

Check Rates

Millennium Alaskan Hotel provides accessibility and views

Flag review

Tips for Families

Walk, jog, or bike the paved pathways around Lake Hood and Lake Spenard, watching float planes, "Bush planes" with fat tires, and keeping a sharp eye out for resident moose, eagles, and waterfowl. The Alaska Aviation Museum is located on the shores of Lake Hood, just across the lake from the hotel. Great displays of aircraft that are so important to Alaska's history.


My detailed rating

Cleanliness
Value
Customer Service
Pool
Comfort
On-site/nearby restaurants
Location
Other kids' amenities

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

Alaska Aviation Museum Tony Knowles Coastal Trail and Earthquake Park Rust's Flying Service (flightseeing, fishing, bear-viewing) Parks and picnic areas

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

Gwennies City Diner

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: July 2013
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

Alaska Sealife Center

Anchorage, Alaska

| Map More Info


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)

Alaska SeaLife Center in Seward informs and entertains kids

Flag review

Tips for Families

Do consider a behind-the-scenes tour with bigger kids; you can feed a Giant Pacific Octopus, watch a bird keeper gather up dinner for the flock of feathered friends in the aviary, or learn more about the rescue program. A bit pricey, but worth it. Take a stroller for little ones, and allow them to spend time viewing 'Woody,' the huge sea lion who loves to swim past kids! Combine the trip with a day trip aboard Kenai Fjords Tours; the have a combo deal that allows for both SeaLife Center visits, and a day cruise.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: July 2011
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5) and Big Kids (6-8)

Grand Hotel Anchorage

505 West 2Nd Avenue, Anchorage, Alaska

| Map


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Little kids (3-5)
  • Big kids (6-8)

From

$93

avg/night

Check Rates

Anchorage Grand Hotel is grand for families, indeed

Flag review

Tips for Families

Take advantage of your location to walk along the famous 11-mile Tony Knowles Coastal Trail, just a block away. This property is also a nice option if you take the train to/from Anchorage, since it's an easy walk or taxi ride up the hill to your lodgings. Visit the Anchorage Market and Festival on Saturdays/Sundays May-September; full of treats and interesting characters, the market is a truly Alaskan experience. Walk to 4th Avenue and take a Downtown Trolley Tour, or visit the Public Lands Building. The Visit Anchorage (visitors bureau) Log Cabin Visitor Center is on 4th, too, and is a great place to begin your explorations.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: July 2008
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2), Little Kids (3-5) and Tweens (9-12)

Alaska Sealife Center

Anchorage, Alaska

| Map More Info


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)
  • Little kids (3-5)
  • Tweens (9-12)

Don't miss this experience with your family!

Flag review

Tips for Families

Bring the camera!

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: July 2008
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2), Little Kids (3-5) and Tweens (9-12)

Millennium Alaskan Hotel Anchorage

4800 Spenard Road, Anchorage, Alaska

| Map


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)
  • Little kids (3-5)
  • Tweens (9-12)

From

$105

avg/night

Check Rates

Best view ever!

Flag review

Tips for Families

Plan on walking the coastal trails. Well paved for strollers and areas for picnicking!

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: July 2009
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2) and Tweens (9-12)

Alyeska Resort Girdwood

1000 Arlberg Ave, Anchorage, Alaska

| Map


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)
  • Tweens (9-12)

From

$98

avg/night

Check Rates

Breathtaking!

Flag review

Tips for Families

If your looking to enjoy the berry picking August is the best month.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: May 2012
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5) and Big Kids (6-8)

My trip photos

View All

Anchorage Coastal Wildlife Refuge

2999 E 154th Ave, Anchorage, Alaska

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Little kids (3-5)
  • Big kids (6-8)

Kid-friendly boardwalk and an abundance of wildlife make the Coastal Wildlife Refuge a memorable sto

Flag review

Tips for Families

Heads up: Do NOT venture out onto the mudflats, ever. These innocuous-looking sandy beaches are full of muddy, silty sand that can trap unsuspecting walkers, leading to disaster. Stay on the boardwalk, and away from the railroad tracks and mudflats. Bring warm clothing any time of year, it can be breezy at Potter Marsh. Add bug spray during the summer months. This is an excellent stop either on the way out of town, or as you arrive back in town after a road trip south. We also like to visit at the end of the day, when the air is still and songbirds fill the air with music. Do watch for moose in the willow thickets. Black bears have been spotted in the area, so be bear-aware!

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: June 2012
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5) and Big Kids (6-8)

My trip photos

View All

The Alaska Zoo

4731 O'Malley Road, Anchorage, Alaska

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Little kids (3-5)
  • Big kids (6-8)

Try the Alaska Zoo for an up-close look at northern critters.

Flag review

Tips for Families

The Alaska Zoo is open all year long, so don't let cold and snowy weather deter your visit. In fact, these animals love cold and dark days; all critters here live in arctic or sub-arctic environments, and cold is their thing. During the summer, visit right when the facility opens for the day, or just before closing time to see the animals at their most active. While the zoo does offer a small snack bar on site, it is wise to bring food and drink for kids. Also consider a wagon or stroller for gear and small children, the zoo sits on a wooded area with a lovely network of trails leading from one area to another. NOTE: The brown and black bears usually go into hibernation in October, and do not emerge again until early May.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

Need a pick-me-up before or after a trip to the zoo? Steam Dot is a locally-owned coffee shop with great ambiance for kids. Grab a latte, chocolate milk, and snack, and relax while the kids play with the basket of games, books, and toys. www.steamdot.com

My Kid's Review

I like going during the winter - the polar bears might swim in the pool and the wolverine is always running in circles. - 8 year-old

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: June 2012
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

My trip photos

View All

Alaska Native Heritage Center

8800 Heritage Center Dr, Anchorage, Alaska

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)

Learn about Alaska Native culture and lifestyle at this indoor/outdoor facility in Anchorage.

Flag review

Tips for Families

Kids under the age of 5 will enjoy the Children's Area, with chalkboards, pretend animal skins, and some neat books to read. Tweens and teens will be intrigued by the indoor and outdoor exhibits, combining lifestyle with history, especially with Alaska Native teens taking part. Consider attending on a special event day, when dancing, drumming, and storytelling continue all day. While a daily schedule does include these activities, it's way more fun when other tribal members participate. Dress for walking around the outdoor space - it can be chilly. See if your kids can find the whale skeleton! Oh, and be sure to keep off the rocks near the lake - elders consider it disrespectful to climb on their sacred sides.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

Situated on the boundary of Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, the Native Heritage Center is near Tikhatnu Commons, a mall that has an Olive Garden and Red Robin, among other kid-pleasing restaurants.

My Kid's Review

My favorite thing to do is run around outside. I like the Clan House and the totem pole.

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Loading

Thank you for your help! We'll check it out.

500 characters allowed