Julie Greene and 6 other parents have been here

Recent User Reviews

Write a review!
  • Visited: 2013-03-01
  • Submitted: 2013-03-10 23:54:43.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2)

The Farmers' Museum®

5775 State Hwy 80, Cooperstown, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)

Maple Weekend: Sugaring Off Sundays

Flag review

Tips for Families

The museum consists of many small buildings, so you're going to be outdoors quite a bit. Choose a clear day if you can. The trails are very wet and muddy in the Spring, so be sure to wear good sneakers or, preferably, waterproof boots with a good tread. The mud can be very slippery. Due to the conditions of the paths, this event was not stroller-friendly (not a problem for us as our daughter would rather walk). If you're planning on buying maple products that are sold in the dining room during the pancake breakfast, be aware that the vendor accepts cash only. The staff is extremely friendly - don't hesitate to ask them if you have any questions. If you're planning on visiting the Fenimore or other Cooperstown attractions, ask the admissions staff if discount tickets are available for the same day. Finally, check the website for children's camps and lots of family-friendly events held at the museum year round.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

If you want to splurge, you cannot beat the Otesaga Resort Hotel on the same street as the museum.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

Check out the cafe at the Ommegang Brewery for Belgian-inspired crepes and fries. Be aware that as of this posting, there were no diaper changing stations in the restrooms.

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Expert Traveler

Saratoga Springs, New York

  • Visited: 2012-08-01
  • Submitted: 2013-03-06 18:33:37.0
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5) and Tweens (9-12)

My trip photos

View All

National Baseball Hall of Fame & museum

25 Main Street, Cooperstown, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Little kids (3-5)
  • Tweens (9-12)

Love the history, wish it was more interactive

Flag review

Tips for Families

Membership does have its privileges, it gets you out of the often long lines to get in during the summer months. The fall or spring is a great time to come and avoid the more crowded times. Induction ceremonies are great to attend with children, but also a crazy time to get into the actual Hall of Fame. We have attended the ceremonies (held outside on baseball fields) but chose not to tour the Hall during the same time.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

World-Class Traveler

Saratoga Springs, New York

  • Visited: 2008-05-01
  • Submitted: 2013-03-01 10:10:06.0
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8) and Tweens (9-12)

National Baseball Hall of Fame & museum

25 Main Street, Cooperstown, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)
  • Tweens (9-12)

The Motherlode of Baseball Memorabilia

Flag review

Tips for Families

Arrive early; there's a lot to see and small kids might not have the stamina to do a complete visit. For kids 6 and up, the scavenger hunt is a fantastic way to keep interest high.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
1

  • Visited: 2012-09-01
  • Submitted: 2013-03-01 04:22:09.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2)

Fenimore Art Museum

Lake Rd., Cooperstown, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)

A Small, Engaging Art Museum in a Picturesque Town

Flag review

Tips for Families

Before you go, visit the website to find a specific exhibit that truly interests you. If traveling with small children, be aware that not all bathrooms are equipped with changing stations. The one bathroom we visited upstairs was quite tiny and cramped - think narrow vintage stalls - and was not conducive to occupying together with a toddler. The staff might be able to direct you to a more appropriate bathroom. Also check out the Farmers' Museum (same street) and the National Baseball Hall of Fame. If you are looking for a real treat in the Fall, make the short drive to the Fly Creek Cider Mill, which will wow you with more free samples of sauces, salsas, snacks, and treats than you've ever seen in one place! The kids can also watch the cider press and learn how cider is made.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

The Otesaga Resort Hotel provides luxury accommodations and is very close to both The Fenimore and The Farmers' Museum.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

The cafe at Ommegang Brewery is worth checking out if you have older children. There is communal seating, the adults get to sample the local microbrews, and the menu is creative but kid-friendly (Belgian fries, crepes). Even if you're not going for a tour, the exterior of the brewery is a pretty impressive sight. At the time of this review, the women's bathroom in the cafe was not equipped with a changing station.

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Bearsville, New York

  • Visited: 2012-10-01
  • Submitted: 2013-01-28 13:40:30.0
  • Traveled with:
    Teens (13+)

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cooperstown

4758 State Highway 28, Cooperstown, New York

| Map

KID-FRIENDLY AMENITIES

  • Connecting rooms
  • Rollaway beds available
  • Sleeper sofa
  • Can accommodate large families
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave in room
  • Kitchenette or kitchen in room
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Kids eat free
  • Cribs (infant beds) available


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Teens (13+)

From

$78

avg/night

Check Rates

great time had by all

Flag review

Tips for Families

bring your swimsuits

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Loading

Thank you for your help! We'll check it out.

500 characters allowed