Mimi Slawoff Mendelson and 3 other parents have been here

Recent User Reviews

Write a review!
  • Visited: 2013-09-01
  • Submitted: 2013-10-08 17:28:01.0
  • Traveled with:
    Teens (13+)

My trip photos

View All

Living Desert Zoo and Gardens

47-900 Portola Ave., Palm Desert, California

| Map More Info


Average user rating (3 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Teens (13+)

Desert gardens and animals

Flag review

Tips for Families

To beat the desert heat, plan to arrive to the Living Desert when it opens. Check the schedule upon arriving so you don't miss animal feedings and demonstrations.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: 2013-10-01
  • Submitted: 2013-10-08 17:10:49.0
  • Traveled with:
    Teens (13+)

My trip photos

View All

Desert Adventures

74-794 Lennon Place, Suite A, Palm Desert, California

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Teens (13+)

Exciting desert adventures

Flag review

Tips for Families

Kids ages 5 and older are able to do this tour. But it's probably most fascinating for ages 8 and older. Wear closed-toe shoes for walking along sandy trails. Don't forget hats and sunscreen too!

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Experienced Traveler

Calabasas, California

  • Visited: 2013-07-01
  • Submitted: 2013-07-06 03:16:36.0
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5)

Living Desert Zoo and Gardens

47-900 Portola Ave., Palm Desert, California

| Map More Info


Average user rating (3 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Little kids (3-5)

Great way to spend the morning

Flag review

Tips for Families

BRING BOTTLED DRINKS - water and Gatorade are for sale in the park, but at $3 each! It gets VERY hot (especially since there's quite a bit of walking), so you will need to stay hydrated. Sunscreen and a wide-brimmed hat are also good. As someone else noted, there's quite a distance between some exhibits so bring a stroller or pay the extra fee to ride the tram. Get there as SOON as it opens to try to beat the heat. To the left of the veterinary center doors are some animals that are undergoing special treatment; since they're in glass you can really see them up close.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

We had a great chicken finger meal at the Daily Grill on the way back to our hotel ($7 for the most delicious chicken fingers, fries, drink, and even an ice cream for dessert!)

My Kid's Review

"I liked the [train] tracks!" <-- Figures: we take him to an amazing zoo and the thing he can't stop talking about is the big TRAIN exhibit :)

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Ottawa, Ontario

  • Visited: 2013-01-01
  • Submitted: 2013-04-22 13:13:51.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2) and Little Kids (3-5)

Living Desert Zoo and Gardens

47-900 Portola Ave., Palm Desert, California

| Map More Info


Average user rating (3 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)
  • Little kids (3-5)

Enjoyable morning

Flag review

Tips for Families

I think it is key to go at opening - even in January it was warm by early afternoon when we left. As well, it is a looong way between attractions when you are walking with kids - there is a shuttle that you can pay to ride around on for the day but if you plan on walking, make sure your kids are up to it or make sure to take strollers. There are coupons online for $2 or $3 off admission, making it a bit more affordable.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
2

Loading

Thank you for your help! We'll check it out.

500 characters allowed