Tracy Nelson Burns and 13 other parents have been here

Recent User Reviews

Write a review!
  • Visited: 2013-05-01
  • Submitted: 2014-03-04 22:11:02.0
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5)

My trip photos

View All

Ontario Beach Park

799 Lake Ave, Rochester, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Little kids (3-5)

Huge Lake Beach, Playground, Antique Carousel

Flag review

Tips for Families

I would avoid bringing kids after sundown, especially if there is a festival aimed toward adults, to avoid smokers/partiers. Sometimes the beach is closed due to a high bacteria count in the water, and visitors are not allowed to swim for a period of time. You can call 585-753-5887 for information about current swimming conditions.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

We stayed at the Homewood Suites in Greece.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

Abbot's for custard. There is also a concession stand in the park. Better yet, pack a picnic.

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Rochester, New York

  • Visited: 2013-07-01
  • Submitted: 2013-08-05 17:35:24.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2) and Tweens (9-12)

My trip photos

View All

Seabreeze Amusement Park

4600 Culver Rd, Rochester, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)
  • Tweens (9-12)

Worth the return visit and hopefully many more

Flag review

Tips for Families

Bring sunscreen. We went on a Tuesday and a Sunday--so crowds were minimal. Rent a locker. Food is plentiful, however there is also a popular local burger/ice-cream place just outside the park too, called Bill Gray's. There are some lovely views of Lake Ontario from the park and rides.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Rochester, New York

  • Visited: 2013-07-01
  • Submitted: 2013-08-05 17:20:18.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2)

My trip photos

View All

Strong National Museum of Play

1 Manhattan Sq. Dr., Rochester, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (5 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)

They think of everything for families with children

Flag review

Tips for Families

Bring a camera; there are fun photo opportunities everywhere. Kids are kids, take advantage of the antibacterial dispensers stationed around the museum especially during cold and flu season. Return, there is too much to see it all in one visit. There is extra cost to riding the train, the carousel and visiting the butterfly garden

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
1

Fabius, New York

  • Visited: 2013-03-01
  • Submitted: 2013-07-01 19:00:29.0
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5)

Strong National Museum of Play

1 Manhattan Sq. Dr., Rochester, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (5 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Little kids (3-5)

I wish we could mover to Rochester just so we could go there every week!

Flag review

Tips for Families

Next time I go, I will be bringing our own lunch. The food court was packed during lunch time, leading to a long wait and us barely catching a table to eat at.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
2

  • Visited: 2013-05-01
  • Submitted: 2013-06-04 02:17:56.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2)

My trip photos

View All

Strong National Museum of Play

1 Manhattan Sq. Dr., Rochester, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (5 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)

A Full-Day Experience!

Flag review

Tips for Families

Get there as soon as the museum opens to beat the crowds. You'll notice the museum filling up as the day goes on. Do the Butterfly Garden early on. It can be a bit of a wait to get in, and once you're in there, you're pretty much a captive audience until it's time to open the exit doors. If you're traveling with younger children, you'll want to cover this part *before* any sort of overtired meltdown becomes imminent - loud noises are discouraged. Also, don't forget to bring cash for the carousel near the entrance/exit!

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

Definitely go for any one of the local extended stay chains. There is no minimum stay for most of them. For the price of a regular hotel room (or less), you can get a 1-bedroom suite with a separate living/sleeping area and a fully-equipped kitchenette. They often have indoor pools and free breakfasts, too, as well as free Wi-Fi. We had separate flat screen TVs in the living room and in the master bedroom, very powerful air conditioning with separate units in each room, and a vanity area that was separate from the bathroom. You can actually cook in the room and use the refrigerator and freezer to store food (no bar fridge). Look for deals - sometimes you get get a suite like this for under $100/night. We stayed at the Homewood Suites in Greece (nearby suburb) and it was great. It was right near a Starbucks and was minutes from downtown Rochester. I always book an extended stay room if possible when traveling as a family. You get so much more room, and you can't get better amenities for the price.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

You can technically leave the museum to go get lunch and then come back later, but it would be a pain, especially with young kids for whom every pre-nap minute counts. You'd be better off bringing your own lunch with you and eating it at the food court tables than eating at the food court itself or the diner. First of all, there are few healthy options (the healthiest being Subway), and secondly, the food at the on-site diner was extremely disappointing. My burger was smashed flat, gray, and greasy, with condiments already added including one I didn't want. The fries were nothing special. I ended up throwing most of my overpriced lunch away. My husband didn't care for his diner order, either. Not worth it! Next time I'll just throw a couple of Ziploc-bagged sandwiches and a couple of apples in my bag, grab a food court table, and call it a day.

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
1

  • Visited: 2013-05-01
  • Submitted: 2013-06-02 02:54:40.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2)

My trip photos

View All

Seneca Park Zoo

2222 Saint Paul St, Rochester, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)

Clean, Compact Zoo in a Shady Park Setting

Flag review

Tips for Families

Look online for coupons. Our daughter was under three when we went, so she got in free, but sometimes you can find deals for free passes for older kids with the purchase of an adult ticket on the zoo's website.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

Homewood Suites, Greece

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

Too may to list - there are chain restaurants and family-friendly independent restaurants all over the city. We went to the Cheesecake Factory one night since we don't have one where we live.

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: 2013-05-01
  • Submitted: 2013-06-02 02:33:39.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2)

My trip photos

View All

Homewood Suites Greece Rochester (New York)

400 Center Place Drive, Rochester, New York

| Map

KID-FRIENDLY AMENITIES

  • Sleeper sofa
  • Can accommodate large families
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave in room
  • Kitchenette or kitchen in room
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Highchairs available
  • On-site convenience store


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)

My detailed rating

  • Cleanliness
  • Customer Service
  • Comfort
  • Location
  • Value
  • Pool
  • On-site/nearby restaurants
  • Other kids' amenities

From

$112

avg/night

Check Rates

Clean, Convenient Extended Stay

Flag review

Tips for Families

Even if you're just staying somewhere for one night, try to get a room at an extended stay hotel. For often less than the cost of a regular hotel room, you get everything you'd get at a normal hotel plus an extra sleeping area, a fully-equipped kitchen, multiple TVs, free Wi-Fi, and free use of a large refrigerator/freezer and a microwave (sometimes even an oven and/or dishwasher, too). It's basically like getting a one bedroom apartment for less than the cost of a normal hotel room. You can also save money by preparing food in the room rather than going out, and extended stays often offer free breakfast and have coin-operated laundry facilities on the premises. You really can't get a better deal for the money.


My detailed rating

Cleanliness
Value
Customer Service
Pool
Comfort
On-site/nearby restaurants
Location
Other kids' amenities

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

Strong National Museum of Play, Seneca Park Zoo, Ontario Beach Park

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

We went to the Cheesecake Factory (we don't have one in Syracuse) and a local Thai place. There are lots of chain restaurants near the hotel - Red Lobster, Olive Garden, etc.

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
1

Rochester, New York

  • Visited: 2013-02-01
  • Submitted: 2013-03-19 16:13:13.0
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5), Big Kids (6-8), Tweens (9-12) and Teens (13+)

Strong National Museum of Play

1 Manhattan Sq. Dr., Rochester, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (5 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Little kids (3-5)
  • Big kids (6-8)
  • Tweens (9-12)
  • Teens (13+)

Great place for all ages

Flag review

Tips for Families

There are a variety of fast food options in the museum but no food/drink is allowed in the main part of the museum so if your child is used to having an easy to grab snack on hand you may have to plan something else. The gift shops are FULL of wonderful items. If you have no intentions of buying things steer clear because it is hard to get kids out of there. You will need extra cash for carousel, train ride and arcade games.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
1

  • Visited: 2010-04-01
  • Submitted: 2013-03-10 01:53:24.0
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

My trip photos

View All

Rochester Museum & Science Center

657 East Avenue, Rochester, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)

Fun + Learning = great memories for life!

Flag review

Tips for Families

If your child does get scared while climbing up the raised platforms, be prepared to go on up and help get her/him down. It isn't easy, I know from experience, because you have to either keep going or come back down and that can be very awkward.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: 2010-04-01
  • Submitted: 2013-03-09 01:53:35.0
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

My trip photos

View All

Seneca Park Zoo

2222 Saint Paul St, Rochester, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)

Nicely done

Flag review

Tips for Families

Good shoes for walking, and my standard advice of snacks and water on-hand for all. If a camera isn't your style, then borrow one, because there are too many opportunities for adorable kid and animal shots to miss this chance!

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Loading

Thank you for your help! We'll check it out.

500 characters allowed