Calin Lawrence and 4 other parents have been here

Strong National Museum of Play, Rochester, New York

1 Manhattan Sq. Dr., Rochester, New York

| Map |
Add to trip

Recent User Reviews

Write a review!

Rochester, New York

  • My overall rating:

    My ratings by kids age

    • Little kids (3-5)
    • Big kids (6-8)
    • Tweens (9-12)
    • Teens (13+)
  • Visited: 2013-02-01
  • Submitted: 2013-03-19 16:13:13.0
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5), Big Kids (6-8), Tweens (9-12) and Teens (13+)

Great place for all ages

Flag review

Tips for Families

There are a variety of fast food options in the museum but no food/drink is allowed in the main part of the museum so if your child is used to having an easy to grab snack on hand you may have to plan something else. The gift shops are FULL of wonderful items. If you have no intentions of buying things steer clear because it is hard to get kids out of there. You will need extra cash for carousel, train ride and arcade games.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
1

Rochester, New York

  • My overall rating:

    My ratings by kids age

    • Tots (0-2)
  • Visited: 2013-07-01
  • Submitted: 2013-08-05 17:20:18.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2)

My trip photos

View All

They think of everything for families with children

Flag review

Tips for Families

Bring a camera; there are fun photo opportunities everywhere. Kids are kids, take advantage of the antibacterial dispensers stationed around the museum especially during cold and flu season. Return, there is too much to see it all in one visit. There is extra cost to riding the train, the carousel and visiting the butterfly garden

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
1

Fabius, New York

  • My overall rating:

    My ratings by kids age

    • Little kids (3-5)
  • Visited: 2013-03-01
  • Submitted: 2013-07-01 19:00:29.0
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5)

I wish we could mover to Rochester just so we could go there every week!

Flag review

Tips for Families

Next time I go, I will be bringing our own lunch. The food court was packed during lunch time, leading to a long wait and us barely catching a table to eat at.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
2

  • My overall rating:

    My ratings by kids age

    • Tots (0-2)
  • Visited: 2013-05-01
  • Submitted: 2013-06-04 02:17:56.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2)

My trip photos

View All

A Full-Day Experience!

Flag review

Tips for Families

Get there as soon as the museum opens to beat the crowds. You'll notice the museum filling up as the day goes on. Do the Butterfly Garden early on. It can be a bit of a wait to get in, and once you're in there, you're pretty much a captive audience until it's time to open the exit doors. If you're traveling with younger children, you'll want to cover this part *before* any sort of overtired meltdown becomes imminent - loud noises are discouraged. Also, don't forget to bring cash for the carousel near the entrance/exit!

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

Definitely go for any one of the local extended stay chains. There is no minimum stay for most of them. For the price of a regular hotel room (or less), you can get a 1-bedroom suite with a separate living/sleeping area and a fully-equipped kitchenette. They often have indoor pools and free breakfasts, too, as well as free Wi-Fi. We had separate flat screen TVs in the living room and in the master bedroom, very powerful air conditioning with separate units in each room, and a vanity area that was separate from the bathroom. You can actually cook in the room and use the refrigerator and freezer to store food (no bar fridge). Look for deals - sometimes you get get a suite like this for under $100/night. We stayed at the Homewood Suites in Greece (nearby suburb) and it was great. It was right near a Starbucks and was minutes from downtown Rochester. I always book an extended stay room if possible when traveling as a family. You get so much more room, and you can't get better amenities for the price.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

You can technically leave the museum to go get lunch and then come back later, but it would be a pain, especially with young kids for whom every pre-nap minute counts. You'd be better off bringing your own lunch with you and eating it at the food court tables than eating at the food court itself or the diner. First of all, there are few healthy options (the healthiest being Subway), and secondly, the food at the on-site diner was extremely disappointing. My burger was smashed flat, gray, and greasy, with condiments already added including one I didn't want. The fries were nothing special. I ended up throwing most of my overpriced lunch away. My husband didn't care for his diner order, either. Not worth it! Next time I'll just throw a couple of Ziploc-bagged sandwiches and a couple of apples in my bag, grab a food court table, and call it a day.

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
1

  • My overall rating:

    My ratings by kids age

    • Big kids (6-8)
  • Visited: 2010-04-01
  • Submitted: 2013-03-08 12:17:47.0
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

My trip photos

View All

Our favorite location for fun in this fine city!

Flag review

Tips for Families

Snacks, water, camera, check! Layers to be able to take OFF in the butterfly area.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
1

Loading

Thank you for your help! We'll check it out.

500 characters allowed