Jennifer Miller and 6 other parents have been here

Recent User Reviews

Write a review!
  • Visited: 2014-12-01
  • Submitted: 2014-12-24 20:10:51.0
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5)

My trip photos

View All

Lemon Grass

238 W Jefferson St., Syracuse, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Little kids (3-5)

Best Restaurant in Syracuse

Flag review

Tips for Families

This is not a kid-friendly restaurant per se, but that doesn't mean that kids are unwelcome. There is no designated kids' menu, but our 4 year old daughter just shares our entrees. It's fine for teens and younger kids with good behavior and adventurous palates. When bringing younger kids, go earlier for dinner (5pm as opposed to 7pm) or take them at lunchtime, as the meal can take quite a while depending on what you order. Ask to sit in the main dining room as the bar area in Bistro Elephant can become very noisy. Rather than trying to find a metered parking spot around the traffic circle, opt for the public garage with valet parking next door. Take a walk around Armory Square before or after your meal. It's one of the nicest parts of the city and there are many independent stores nearby, including one selling children's clothing.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

Stay in/near Armory Square. Lemon Grass, the MoST, and many nice shops are within walking distance, and Destiny USA is a short drive away.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

The MoST (Museum of Science & Technology) is right across the street and has a large, multi-story play area for kids.

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: 2014-03-01
  • Submitted: 2014-03-04 03:23:22.0
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5)

My trip photos

View All

Mygym

3218 Erie Blvd E, Syracuse, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Little kids (3-5)

Wonderful Classes, Camps, Parents' Nights Out

Flag review

Tips for Families

Parents must wear socks inside the facility, but the kids go barefoot. Follow the MyGym Syracuse Facebook page and join their email list for information about upcoming events for non-members, if you do not have a MyGym membership. You can also call the gym and set up a free trial class if you want to see what the classes are like and/or tire out the kids with an hour of physical activity. Most Parents' Nights Out (2.5 hours), camps (including the 3 hour summer and holiday break camps), Friday Fit & Fun Drop Offs (2.5 hours), and some Open Play hours are open to non-members; you just might have to pay a bit more. Also, look for special holiday events that are open to the general public for a small fee, such as the annual Halloween Party.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

Residence Inn Syracuse Downtown Armory Square

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

There is a Ruby Tuesday's right next door to MyGym, and Erie Blvd. is packed with chain sit-down restaurants and fast food places. If you're looking for something a bit healthier, head to Dosa Grill in the plaza across from the firehouse in DeWitt for the area's best Indian food, or head to Wegmans DeWitt for a huge variety of prepared foods (most very healthy) that you can sit down and eat right in their cafe area. They have everything! "The Big Wegmans," as we call it, is much more than a typical grocery store - give it a try for lunch!

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: 2014-03-01
  • Submitted: 2014-03-04 02:05:38.0
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5)

My trip photos

View All

Billy Beez

Destiny USA, Syracuse, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Little kids (3-5)

Huge Indoor Play Space at Destiny USA

Flag review

Tips for Families

Everyone, including adults, must wear socks. Avoid during peak hours, weekends, and school holidays if you can - the crowds are crazy! Your best bet is weekday mornings when school is in session. I'm not sure if the novelty will eventually wear off or not and the crowds will lessen a bit, but as of right now, this is the biggest and best play space in the area, so expect it to be packed. If you'll be in Syracuse for a while, or if you live here, ask about buying a 10-pack of tickets at a discounted price. Also, watch their Facebook page and sign up for their email list for information about special events and birthday party discounts. Signing up for the email list is how we received an invitation to play there for free the day *before* the Grand Opening!

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

I would suggest the Residence Inn Syracuse Downtown at Armory Square. Armory Square is, in my opinion, the nicest section of the city of Syracuse. Lots of really decent independent shops and restaurants, and it is also very walkable.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

Destiny USA is packed with restaurants in the food court and in The Canyon area, and Billy Beez itself has its own cafe. The Cheesecake Factory just opened up somewhere in the mall, and a giant iHop is apparently in the works as well.

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
2

  • Visited: 2013-06-01
  • Submitted: 2013-10-06 17:10:36.0
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

Best Western Plus Liverpool Grace Inn & Suites

136 Transistor Parkway Liverpool, NY 13088, Syracuse, New York

| Map


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)

My detailed rating

  • Cleanliness
  • Customer Service
  • Comfort
  • Location
  • Value
  • Pool
  • On-site/nearby restaurants
  • Other kids' amenities

Good location, cheap hotel

Flag review

Tips for Families

Skip it!


My detailed rating

Cleanliness
Value
Customer Service
Pool
Comfort
On-site/nearby restaurants
Location
Other kids' amenities

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
1

Syracuse, New York

  • Visited: 2013-04-01
  • Submitted: 2013-05-17 18:58:03.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2) and Little Kids (3-5)

MoST - Milton J. Rubenstein Museum of Science and Technology

500 S Franklin St, Syracuse, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (3 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)
  • Little kids (3-5)

A nice small science museum - perfect for a winter day

Flag review

Tips for Families

There is a small area to eat food/snacks, with some vending machines. I highly recommend you pack your own food and drinks because the options are not great.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Syracuse, New York

  • Visited: 2013-05-01
  • Submitted: 2013-05-17 18:53:11.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2) and Little Kids (3-5)

Rosamond Gifford Zoo

1 Conservation Place, Syracuse, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)
  • Little kids (3-5)

Great zoo! Very manageable, excellent for young kids!

Flag review

Tips for Families

There is a decent on-site restaurant with a fair bit of indoor seating. There are lots of picnic tables outside, and in warmer weather we always bring our own food/snacks!

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Cicero, New York

  • Visited: 2013-03-01
  • Submitted: 2013-05-17 18:07:13.0
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5)

MoST - Milton J. Rubenstein Museum of Science and Technology

500 S Franklin St, Syracuse, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (3 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Little kids (3-5)

Wonderul Hands on Museum

Flag review

Tips for Families

I would definitely plan on viewing a movie while there. Parking sometimes is tricky on the weekends.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: 2012-01-01
  • Submitted: 2013-03-04 01:07:05.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2)

My trip photos

View All

MoST - Milton J. Rubenstein Museum of Science and Technology

500 S Franklin St, Syracuse, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (3 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)

Science Museum in Armory Square

Flag review

Tips for Families

Bring plenty of quarters to feed the parking meters. If you can't find parking on Armory Square, the hotel garage on the same side as Lemon Grass accepts public parking. The Murbro lot that used to be behind the MoST is now closed. Although it is just a small area comprised of a few streets, Armory Square is, in my opinion, the prettiest and most cosmopolitan part of the city of Syracuse. It's becoming an interesting place to shop, with small independent boutiques popping up here and there. Take some time to walk around and explore a little before or after your museum visit.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

Get ready to blow your kids' minds: Within walking distance of the MOST, there is Sakana-Ya, a conveyor belt sushi place just like in Japan. You sit down, the food goes by on the conveyor belt, and you grab what you want before it passes you by. If someone grabs the dish you want, no worries - another identical one will make its way around the belt to you in a minute or two. At the end, you pay according to the empty plates and/or bowls that you've accumulated. This is the only dining experience of its kind anywhere remotely near here. Super fun! There's also a Starbucks and a Freedom of Espresso nearby for any adults who need to re-caffeinate.

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: 2012-06-01
  • Submitted: 2013-03-03 20:24:35.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2)

My trip photos

View All

Upper Onondaga Park

Onondaga park drive, Syracuse, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)

No Ordinary Gazebo - Another Hidden Gem

Flag review

Tips for Families

If you want to have family photos taken while you're in Syracuse, definitely consider using the gazebo at Onondaga Park as a backdrop.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: 2012-05-01
  • Submitted: 2013-03-03 19:57:46.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2)

My trip photos

View All

Rosamond Gifford Zoo

1 Conservation Place, Syracuse, New York

| Map More Info


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)

A Small, Well-Kept Urban Zoo

Flag review

Tips for Families

This zoo is mostly stroller-friendly. Most of the exhibits are outdoors, so plan your visit on a clear day. Go as early in the morning as possible - that's when the animals are active, the weather is cool, the parking is easy, and the crowds are small. You can see most of the attractions before the crowds start pouring in if you get there right when they open. Call ahead to find out if there are any school groups scheduled for the day of your visit. On our second visit, we ended up in line behind about eight school buses worth of kids and teachers, and it was mayhem... avoid that if you can. There aren't many options for food at the zoo, so if you have any dietary restrictions or just want to have more control over what you eat, you'll want to make appropriate arrangements. Pick up a zoo map so you'll have an idea of how much ground you're covering and how far away from the parking lot you are (always a good thing to know when traveling with toddlers) and don't forget to stop at the zoo store on the way out. They have a huge selection of stuffed animals and zoo-related memorabilia that the kids will enjoy. If you're here around Halloween or Easter, check out the Zoo Boo and Breakfast with the Bunny events, but register early as they fill up fast. There are also tons of events and workshops year-round for kids ages 3+. Their Zoo To You program brings animals and related books and activities to area public library story hours. Check their website and see which events coincide with your visit so you can take advantage of these programs.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Loading

Thank you for your help! We'll check it out.

500 characters allowed