Kalyn Holland and 34 other parents have been here

Recent User Reviews

Write a review!
  • Visited: 2014-02-01
  • Submitted: 2014-02-24 14:31:42.0
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5)

My trip photos

View All

Smugglers' Notch Resort

4323 VT Route 108 S, Jeffersonville, Vermont

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Little kids (3-5)

Full Service Family Ski Resort

Flag review

Tips for Families

Try to arrange your stay so that you will be staying overnight on a Thursday so you can take advantage of the weekly Winter Carnival. Be aware that there is a daily rate that applies for non-skiers as well. They will tell you that it's part of a "Winter Adventure" package or something like that, but your options are basically to go snowshoeing or to paint a snowman on a mug. The non-skier options are lame, to say the least. Your best bet is a Netflix binge or a side trip to Burlington in that case. With regard to our child's ski camp, we had to switch ski instructors after the first day when our 3 year old daughter came back to the apartment saying that her teacher had put her and another little girl on a cot because they were crying and that the teacher yelled, "LAY DOWN!" and "GO TO BED!" at them. Our daughter does not nap and was not misbehaving; she said she was crying because it was a new place and she missed us. Rather than comforting, distracting, and re-engaging our daughter, the instructor isolated, shamed, and yelled at her. I was furious. I called Harlie, the woman in charge of the Snow Sport University, and explained what happened. Harlie met my husband personally at drop-off the next morning and assigned our daughter to a new instructor and let us know that the incident was confirmed, that she personally had seen the girls on the cot and made the instructor include them again, and that the issue with that instructor was being handled. If you want to know which instructor to avoid, feel free to message me privately. I think that anyone who handles a homesick 3 year old by isolating and yelling at them should be fired on the spot, but I was pleased that Harlie took us seriously and transferred our daughter to a new class. Our daughter had no further complaints about the class for the rest of the week after the transfer. Above all else, at Smuggler's Notch and in any childcare situation, listen to your child! If your kid is telling you that an adult is being cruel to them, believe them and get them out of there. One final tip - you can ski/board the whole day that you check out. You don't have to leave the mountain just because you've left your room, so don't miss out on that extra day.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

We stayed on-site in a studio apartment in Hakone. You can save a ton of money if you opt for a studio instead of a 1 bedroom. There was plenty of room for our daughter's inflatable travel bed, a full kitchen, etc. and the apartment was very big for a studio. It wasn't fancy by any means, but it had everything we needed and we were pleased with it. If you have more than one child and/or older children, then I do think a 1+ bedroom would be better... but it's going to cost you. I'm talking the difference between a $2,500 stay or a $5,000 stay, just depending on whether you opt for that second bedroom or not and what time of year it is.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

Consider bringing your own food. The children's menus at the resort are very unhealthy and full of fried / junk food - chicken fingers, fries, pizza, etc. It's kind of strange since Vermont is usually a place where local and organic rule, but everything was super processed and the menus in general are straight out of the 80's. I did not want my daughter eating junk all week long, so I brought groceries for 4 dinners. We ate the last night's dinner at Hearth and Candle, which is the only restaurant I'd recommend on the premises besides the Ben & Jerry's Scoop shop, and even then there were issues with some of the courses. You'll be much better off cooking meals yourself in your apartment. Stovetop meals are best, since the heating element for the stove is on the bottom and it's hard to control the temperature with a small electric oven. For the first night, I brought a premade Greek salad, stuffed grape leaves, and baked some fish from Wegmans. Then for other nights, I made Tyler Florence's stovetop pot roast recipe, a roast chicken with vegetables (not quite a disaster but not great due to the oven issues I mentioned), pork chops with wild rice and green beans, etc. Another great thing about bringing groceries is that they all get used up, so it's less to pack back up when you have to leave. It's a lot cheaper than the resort food, too.

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Newton, Massachusetts

  • Visited: 2013-10-01
  • Submitted: 2013-10-27 00:36:05.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2) and Tweens (9-12)

My trip photos

View All

Stowehof Inn & Resort Stowe (Vermont)

434 Edson Hill Road, Stowe, Vermont

| Map


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tots (0-2)
  • Tweens (9-12)

From

$87

avg/night

Check Rates

End of Leaf Peeping Season escape

Flag review

Tips for Families

Be sure to stop by the Cabot Annex, Ben & Jerry's and the Stowe resort

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

  • Visited: 2013-07-01
  • Submitted: 2013-09-09 16:57:35.0
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

The Mountain Top Inn and Resort Chittenden

195 Mountain Top Road, Chittenden, Vermont

| Map


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)

My detailed rating

  • Cleanliness
  • Customer Service
  • Comfort
  • Location
  • Value
  • Pool
  • On-site/nearby restaurants
  • Other kids' amenities

Provide dates to check prices

avg/night

Check Rates

Gorgeous setting with something to do for the entire family

Flag review

Tips for Families

The front desk has DVR's, beach towels and a full movie library that you can check out so no need to pack that stuff! Don't forget your bug spray when heading out from the Inn. We forgot it during day time walks and between the horse flies and mosquitos it was brutal! There are no mini-fridges in the rooms so plan accoringly


My detailed rating

Cleanliness
Value
Customer Service
Pool
Comfort
On-site/nearby restaurants
Location
Other kids' amenities

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Expert Traveler

Williston, Vermont

  • Visited: 2009-06-01
  • Submitted: 2013-08-09 17:02:54.0
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8) and Tweens (9-12)

Lake Champlain Maritime Museum

Burlington, Vermont

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)
  • Tweens (9-12)

Maritime History about the Lake Champlain Region.

Flag review

Tips for Families

This museum is indoors and out. Some of the paths are gravel/rocky. Wear good walking shoes and if you need a stroller, you might be better off with a backpack or carrier of sorts.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

Basin Harbor Club is across the street.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

The Red Mill Restaurant

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Expert Traveler

Williston, Vermont

  • Visited: 2010-07-01
  • Submitted: 2013-08-09 16:54:39.0
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8) and Tweens (9-12)

Stowe Recreation Path

Stowe, Vermont

| Map More Info


Average user rating (2 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)
  • Tweens (9-12)

Easy path for a sports and seasons.

Flag review

Tips for Families

During warm months pack towels/swim suits as the path winds close to the water and you can hop off and take a swim.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

Piecasso, Blue Donkey, Dutch Pancake House and on Sunday during the summer the Stowe Farmer's Market.

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Expert Traveler

Williston, Vermont

  • Visited: 2010-06-01
  • Submitted: 2013-08-09 16:46:11.0
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8) and Tweens (9-12)

Maple Street Park

75 Maple St, Essex Junction, Vermont

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)
  • Tweens (9-12)

The Perfect Park

Flag review

Tips for Families

The bathrooms are located in the building by the main entrance | The concession stand is only open during sporting events, so it is best to bring snacks.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

Rocky's Pizza, Essex Grill

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Expert Traveler

Williston, Vermont

  • Visited: 2012-11-01
  • Submitted: 2013-08-09 15:55:59.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tweens (9-12) and Teens (13+)

My trip photos

View All

Five Tree Hill Country Park

Williston, Vermont

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tweens (9-12)
  • Teens (13+)

Perfect trail for families of all ages, all seasons

Flag review

Tips for Families

This is a pack-in-pack out park. There are no restrooms.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Expert Traveler

Williston, Vermont

  • Visited: 2009-01-01
  • Submitted: 2013-08-09 15:48:55.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tweens (9-12)

Talent Skatepark

South Burlington, Vermont

| Map More Info


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Tweens (9-12)

Indoor skatepark & bike park and more

Flag review

Tips for Families

Make sure you check their web site before you go. It seems that the schedule is very fluid. There are things going on all the time.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Austin, Texas

  • Visited: 2012-07-01
  • Submitted: 2013-08-01 04:24:51.0
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5) and Big Kids (6-8)

Smugglers Notch Resort

4323 VERMONT ROUTE 108 SOUTH, Smugglers Notch, Vermont

| Map

KID-FRIENDLY AMENITIES

  • Sleeper sofa
  • Can accommodate large families
  • Babysitting
  • On-site restaurant(s)
  • Kids' menu in restaurant
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave in room
  • Kitchenette or kitchen in room
  • Highchairs available
  • On-site convenience store


Average user rating (4 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Little kids (3-5)
  • Big kids (6-8)

From

$149

avg/night

Check Rates

Awesome Trip!

Flag review

Tips for Families

This is a great place for families - any age(s)! You will have a great time!

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Expert Traveler

Williston, Vermont

  • Visited: 2011-04-01
  • Submitted: 2013-07-30 00:33:32.0
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8) and Tweens (9-12)

Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort

485 Hotel Road, Rutland, Vermont

| Map

KID-FRIENDLY AMENITIES

  • Sleeper sofa
  • Can accommodate large families
  • Smoke-free property
  • On-site restaurant(s)
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave in room
  • Kitchenette or kitchen in room
  • On-site convenience store
  • Outdoor pool
  • Playground on site


Average user rating (1 Reviews)

My overall rating

My ratings by kids age

  • Big kids (6-8)
  • Tweens (9-12)

My detailed rating

  • Cleanliness
  • Customer Service
  • Comfort
  • Location
  • Value
  • Pool
  • On-site/nearby restaurants
  • Other kids' amenities

From

$176

avg/night

Check Rates

Excellent Base for visiting Woodstock and Quechee

Flag review

Tips for Families

The Rivers Northeast Adventure Center operates out of the hotel. They are available to set up bouldering, snowshoeing, campfires, hiking trips, bike rentals and more. We were supposed take a white water rafting trip with them however the unpredictable April weather was less than cooperative and our trip was canceled. | The kitchen is very well stocked so that you can make full meals. If you are looking to fill up your fridge there is the Brownsville General Store right in town as well as a larger grocery store in Windsor near the Harpoon Brewery.


My detailed rating

Cleanliness
Value
Customer Service
Pool
Comfort
On-site/nearby restaurants
Location
Other kids' amenities

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly attractions

Montshire Museum, Billings Museum, King Arthur Flour Company, VINS, Simon Pierce

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

Sheppard's Pie, Harpoon Brewery, Mountain Creamery Restaurant

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Loading

Thank you for your help! We'll check it out.

500 characters allowed