Amy Nelson and 41 other parents have been here

Walt Disney World Resort, Lake Buena Vista, Florida

Walt Disney World Resort, Lake Buena Vista, Florida

| Map |
Add to trip

Recent User Reviews

Write a review!

Houston, Texas

  • My overall rating:

    My ratings by kids age

    • Little kids (3-5)
  • Visited: 2014-03-01
  • Submitted: 2014-10-13 20:46:50.0
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5)

Tips for Families

Be sure to rent or take a stroller. Try to do one park every single day of your trip. If you have little ones try to get a nap in so that you can stay at the parks to watch the night time show. These shows are incredible and worth leaving the park for awhile during the afternoon to rest. Also take a cooler with sandwiches and snacks to save money in the park on food. Right when you get in the parks immediately get your fast passes. The shuttle was great to and from the parks. We stayed at Disney's Art of Animation Hotel and it was just great! We had to walk far since we stayed in the little mermaid room but it was not that bad. Magic Kingdom and Hollywood Studios were our favorite parks.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

West Chester, Pennsylvania

  • My overall rating:

    My ratings by kids age

    • Big kids (6-8)
  • Visited: 2013-08-01
  • Submitted: 2014-08-06 14:25:25.0
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

Driving to Disney was an adventure

Flag review

Tips for Families

Before the trip, check Google Maps to see if there are any areas where there are construction going on. Make a note of those spots and map a few alternate routes around them in case there is heavy traffic. Do not depend on your GPS to get you around these places. When gassing up, only gas up at truck stops like Pilot or Flying J. Or use gas stations that advertise their prices on billboards along the highway. Otherwise, you'll be paying more for gas. Get plenty of rest prior to the trip. Start early in the morning, like 3 AM, if possible.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
2

  • My overall rating:

    My ratings by kids age

    • Tots (0-2)
    • Teens (13+)
  • Visited: 2013-11-01
  • Submitted: 2014-07-07 19:44:15.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2) and Teens (13+)

Disney for Thanksgiving/Christmas

Flag review

Tips for Families

If your child is a runner like mine is, a child harness may be the best money you've ever spent. $10 gave me reassurance that my kid wouldn't get lost or kidnapped and it gave him the freedom he needed. We sent a package of my toddler's stuff to the resort before we arrived so we could have all of his food, snacks and gear, but without having to pack it in our suitcases.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

And on-site Disney resort is great for kids. However, if you kid likes Cars, the Art of Animation Resort is worth a visit, even if you do not stay. They can run right up to the characters and you can get good pictures.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

All of the Disney restaurants are great for kids. Every restaurant will have a kid's menu for them to get whatever they eat.

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
1

San Jose, California

  • My overall rating:

    My ratings by kids age

    • Teens (13+)
  • Visited: 2013-08-01
  • Submitted: 2014-03-27 14:41:02.0
  • Traveled with:
    Teens (13+)

Perks of being a College Programmer

Flag review

Tips for Families

Do not come during the Holidays, especially during Thanksgivings, Christmas, and New Year's Eve. The wait for an E-ticket attraction can take up to 5 hours, like on New Year's Eve.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
1

  • My overall rating:

    My ratings by kids age

    • Little kids (3-5)
  • Visited: 2009-04-01
  • Submitted: 2014-03-21 14:43:39.0
  • Traveled with:
    Little Kids (3-5)

sUCH FUN

Flag review

Tips for Families

SUN SCREEN

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
1

Kansas City, Kansas

  • My overall rating:

    My ratings by kids age

    • Big kids (6-8)
    • Teens (13+)
  • Visited: 2008-10-01
  • Submitted: 2013-09-21 15:57:49.0
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8) and Teens (13+)

Wish we would have had more information before we went on the trip of a life time.

Flag review

Tips for Families

Always research, hotels, schedules, layouts, restaurant's. Try to have a schedule and stick to it. Write all your question down over a period of a few days and that way you might be able to get all your questions answered in one phone call, maybe two.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Chanhassen, Minnesota

  • My overall rating:

    My ratings by kids age

    • Big kids (6-8)
  • Visited: 2011-12-01
  • Submitted: 2013-09-09 19:13:36.0
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

Disney World family vacation

Flag review

Tips for Families

Stay on Property. Don't need a rental car. Transportation is provided at airport to resort. Buses get you to the resorts not on the monorail system. Also, opt for the dining plan.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Center Valley, Pennsylvania

  • My overall rating:

    My ratings by kids age

    • Tots (0-2)
    • Big kids (6-8)
  • Visited: 2013-03-01
  • Submitted: 2013-09-09 16:56:11.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2) and Big Kids (6-8)

Fun in Disney, but beware of Easter Week!

Flag review

Tips for Families

1) WHEN TO GO: In the spring, don't go during Easter week! Book for before or after. We went about 10 days after Easter for a week, worked out great. 2) FAST PASS AND CHILD SWAP: No matter when, take advantage of Fastpass. Having a gameplan before you walk in is even better. If you have kids under two and have an older child, definitely take advantage of the Child Swap program. This will allow you to get go up to the front, ask for a Swap Pass (essentially a fastpass) and have one parent go with the child on the ride, then the other parent can go on with the child again. Great for the child! Saves a ton of time with long lines too. Take advantage of it while you can! (NOTE: If you go first thing one morning to Hollywood Studios, go immediately to Toy Story Mania and grab a fastpass, then try and see what the wait is too...) 3) EXTRA MAGIC HOURS: Staying on property? Definitely take advantage of the extra hours, especially when it's early in the morning. It will likely allow you to get on some of the better rides a few times before the crowds get bad. 4) EPCOT: AGENT P WORLD SHOWCASE ADVENTURE: If your kids are Phineas and Ferb fans, they will love this freebie interactive quest. Head to Epcot's World Showcase, find a designated stand, grab an old cell phone and take on the evil Dr. Doofenshmirtz! (http://bit.ly/19AXDHA) 5) MODERATE CHOICE: CARIBBEAN OR CORONADO? For us, Coronado. Better food, surroundings are great, actually a little more mellow (Caribbean is more family/young kids, Coronado is more business conference style). I have heard Port Orleans is also solid as well. 6) DINING: Whether on a plan or not (if you go outside major travel times, you can score a free plan on occasion through deals), make sure to book ahead! Saves time and frustration. We booked all sit down meals ahead and never had a problem all trip. 7) HAVE FUN!

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

MODERATE: Coronado. If you are not picky about food, Caribbean is a lot of fun too. (Either case, request a room near the main building/food areas)

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

Magic Kingdom: The Plaza. Always a favorite, good kids staple food, right on main street Magic Kingdom: Tony's Town Square. Right off the entrance, great food, can't go wrong. Staff is great. Epcot: Via Napoli Ristorante e Pizzeria. Newer restaurant, surprisingly good pizza, great food overall, great for kids and big groups.

My Kid's Review

Our oldest tried out Space Mountain for the first time, loved it! We ended up going on it three times! Expedition Everest at Animal Kindgom, great as well! They also loved the pool at Caribbean Beach, two great water slides and a lot of fun!

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Mooresville, North Carolina

  • My overall rating:

    My ratings by kids age

    • Big kids (6-8)
  • Visited: 2011-11-01
  • Submitted: 2013-09-02 21:16:59.0
  • Traveled with:
    Big Kids (6-8)

FAMILY TRIP

Flag review

Tips for Families

Bring water. The kids meals weren't too expenisve for what you got.

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Pawleys Island, South Carolina

  • My overall rating:

    My ratings by kids age

    • Tots (0-2)
    • Big kids (6-8)
    • Teens (13+)
  • Visited: 2012-07-01
  • Submitted: 2013-04-14 16:22:18.0
  • Traveled with:
    Tots (0-2), Big Kids (6-8) and Teens (13+)

Awesome!

Flag review

Tips for Families

Plan your trip - parks, dining and extras. Do your research early so you get your monies worth and have the best experience!

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly accommodations

N/A

Suggestions for nearby family-friendly restaurants

N/A

My Kid's Review

N/A

View more

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes
0

Loading

Thank you for your help! We'll check it out.

500 characters allowed